Dreadtober 2016

Last year Greg over at Feed your Nerd hosted a great community event – DreadTober. In a very fun and encouraging manner we built and painted a Dreadnought type model. I managed to paint two Helbrutes last DreadTober – I was aiming to finish one but got swept away by the surge of shared enthusiasm. First I finished my Khorgorath Helbrute conversion (Mordici the Damned) and then Rizgar the Tainted

Greg did a tremendous job in constantly updating the DreadTober page on his site, leaving words of encouragement all over the internet and basically holding the event together at the expense of his own entry. Hats off for Greg!


This year, DreadTober is back. The torch has been passed to Joe B over at Broken Paintbrush and he is currently setting up the community event. I strongly suggest that you head on over to the new DreadTober page and check it out. Sign up while you’re at it. Last year we had about 50 participants which led to insane amounts of awesomeness and inspiration. 

I’m in. I probably won’t have time to finish my far from complete Forgefiend conversion (but I’ve stocked up on Green Stuff so you’ll never know). Instead I’ll be tackling the Betrayal at Calth Contemptor. Awkward pose, pristine condition and general neatness all got to go. Corrupted and tainted Khornate Contemptor Helbrute here we come!

Betrayal at Calth contemptor dreadnought
Don’t forget to Kill! Maim! Burn! kids. 

Kill! Maim! Burn!

12 thoughts on “Dreadtober 2016

  1. Sadly I don’t think I will be participating this year. I have to get ready for Badab War YEG and have a Spartan Assault Tank to assemble and scenery to paint. The Sylvaneth models pushed my schedule behind (and no regrets taking on a Sylvaneth project!).

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I really want to plug away at some more Carcharodons but the lure to finish or bring armies to near completion is really strong. I have 20 Termagants with devourers, a Mawloc, Tervigon and 3 Capillary Towers for Tyranids. I still want to purchase the new models like the Haruspex, Exocrine, Toxicrene and Maleceptor. I’ve prime my Genestealer Cult and have decided on the colours.

        My Sisters need to be finished too. I have six tanks, four Pentinent Engines, and around 50 infantry. Grey Knights are about halfway done.

        The Carcharodons have a lot more work so I figured pound out the painting on the other armies and then I can relax with the Carcharodons.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. More or less my entire Tyranid army is still just primed and base coloured. I managed to deal with it by tucking it away from sight. Oh, the shame and guilt.

        Like

    1. Cheers mate! Time is always the main hurdle. I ruled out making the forgefiend my entry due to time. But a single dread should be doable.

      You should give it a go. It’s a lot of fun. And, at the risk of sounding like a self-improvement coach, you’ve already failed if you don’t even try. đŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah you’re too, awesome! You made some really cool Gorillabrutes last time around. You really should get the Helbrute kit. It is one of the best CSM kits available. And you’ll get a ton of bits to spice up the DV Helbrutes with.

      Like

Leave a comment