Paint job: Kitbashed Drukhari Mandrakes

Wow, that’s a bit out of the blue. Mandrakes. Whatever is that. Ok, Mandrakes are some form of daemon tormentors from a parallel dimension within the Webway known as the Aelindrach. They dwell in the shadows, and they do really bad things. Even the Drukhari fear them. So you know they’re up to no good.

They mostly come at night … mostly.

The official model is pretty cool but being quite expensive and resin it does fit the plans I have for my Drukhari. Wait, you got a Drukhari army too? Well, yes. It’s been on the backburner for years. I’ve picked up the occasional model here and there but never really got around to do anything with them. Painted the odd model every now and then but army wise. Complete stand still.

Until very recently. With the introduction of Crusade game mode in 9th edition Warhammer 40,000, I finally decided to pick up the slack and get stuff done. First up is my Cult elements of the army. The Cult of Endless Sadness.

Back to the Mandrakes (I hear the demands for pictures, not words!). I like them. Cool lore. Great rules. Unfortunately no-go models. Let’s see what we can do. Enter the bits box. So by combining bits from Scourges, Wyches, Kabalite Warriors from the Raider kit and Tzaangors (!) with some green stuff robes I ended up with these models. Less faux daemons. More Drukhari Ninjas.

A few close ups of some of the models.

Really happy with them over all. The robes especially. The paint job is my normal grim and rushed. I like it. The swords give the models a vibrant feel.

I hope you like them too. That’s all for now. Take care.

10 thoughts on “Paint job: Kitbashed Drukhari Mandrakes

  1. Yah you are back! Glad to see you posting again and with something so cool. Always been a big fan of the Mandrake lore. Plus I love a good kitbash and all. Robes fit in so well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Rory! Your kind words are much appreciated.

      A good friend of mine gave me some 15-20 old school Warriors (you know the ancient plastic ones) so expect more kitbashing. Fun times ahead.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a big fan of Mandrakes myself – these are great, they really fit the look of elite Dark Eldar agents, slipping out of the shadows to spread murder and mayhem. Love those swords, you’ve done a fantastic job on them – they look genuinely molten.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment