WIP: INQ28 The Chapel Warband, part 9

The impact on the rock formation was massive. Every hit tore chunks of stone from the rock. The sound of the exploding slugs was unmistakable to any one that heard it before. Barabbas Jones had heard it plenty of time, he knew exactly what it meant: The buggers had boltguns. 

He cowered down behind the rocks as the incoming bolt fire countinued to hammer his position. He wasn’t alone, the rest of his lads were pinned down too and they were certainly outgunned and out-positioned here. The Society of Friends had the upper hand, no doubt, as they continued to fire out from their fortified position controlling the Chapel’s ancient eastern gate. 

Barabbas still had a couple of aces up his sleeve thou. He raised Gunn over com: 

-Mr. Gunn, the exo if ye may. 

-One moment, cap’n , just need …

The static and bolter fire drown the rest of Gunn’s response. Barabbas could only wait will the barrage continued. Only problem was that it was that Society of Friends had already started to circle them. In a moment or two their position would be entirely compromised and they gunned downed to a man. 

-By the Emperor’s beard, if ye dun get that damn exo down here right now I’ll feed ye to the dogs!

Barabbas barely got to finished the sentence before the first Krak missiles zoomed past him and slammed into the fortifications by the gate forcing the men there to take cover. Mr. Gunn had arrived. The next volley broke the gate leaving their passage to the Chapel open. 

On Barabbas’ command his crew lashed forward hurling smoke grenades to cover their advance. They had but seconds to enter the Chapel before the guards controlling the gate would reform and attack again. Seconds, on the other hand, was all they needed. 

Once they had cleared past the gate and the immediate danger Gunn steered his make-shift war walker next to captain. The towering walker took a knee lower its pilot next to Barabbas. It squeaked and screamed as its rusty pistons worked. It was an old, repurposed industrial exo-skeleton that Gunn had expropriated from the Lord of Bastards, the Pirate King on Skallar. Gunn lent forward and spoke to the captain:

 -Ye know cap’n, ye could ‘ave just paid ’em for entry. They be quite clear on that. 

-Pay for plunder, the old Rogue Trader laughed. Sure, could’ve dun that but what fun’d that be? 

*** *** *** ***

Doh! I somehow managed to publish it post long before it was ready. Oh well, not much to do about that. 

So I’ve been fiddling around with my bits box during the last couple of nights. It isn’t best walker I’ve done but it’s growing on me. I like the scrawny and awkward look of it. It is clearly not the most optimal of war machines. But bringing a proper Dreadnought would be a bit of overkill for a small skirmish game, don’t you agree?

Take a look and let me know what you think. I know the sculpting isn’t that great but I aim to cover everything thing under a sea of rust and heavy duty weathering. 


Priming makes a world of difference, doesn’t it?

16 thoughts on “WIP: INQ28 The Chapel Warband, part 9

    1. Cheers! I actually wanted to make ball joints but couldn’t find any suitable balls to use at home. So I did it with ball joints but with the same idea of weak and slender joints. But I’m not ruling out revisiting before I start painting it. I need ponder a bit on this one first.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I like how it looks rather awkward but still functional. Maybe needs a bit more gubbins, exposed cabling etc on the body itself, and some kind of armour on the lower legs? I’m also wondering if it needs something a little bit flamboyant to tie it into the Rogue Trader’s retinue. Hope that doesn’t sound like too much criticism, I do like it, I just compare it to some of the other walkers you’ve built and know you can do more! Regarding your reply to Rory (above) you could probably roll a ball for balljoints out of greenstuff, then just leave it to cure. That way you can make a ball of exactly the size you need. I’ve done this for making eyes, bubbles in toxic goo, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the feedback! Regarding flamboyant – I did drap the pilot’s backdrop with a giant flag and the pilot himself got puff arms. I thought that would do but going for the flamboyant there is obviously no ceiling. Any ideas what to add?

      I’ve been contemplating armour for the lower legs, but I didn’t fancy sculpting or building something out of plasticard. I wanted to finish the bugger. But I might take another look in the old bits box. Oval shield would do it I guess.

      Yeah, green stuff. The thought struck me as I was answering Rory. A little to late. I’m not going to cut up all the legs to change everything.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aye, the pilot himself is quite flashy, I just think the vehicle needs a little something to give it a bit more razzle-dazzle. However I’m sure you’ll bring it all together nicely with the paint 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s cool mate. It looks awkward but like an old veteran. I think the knee joints could do with something a little extra bit other than that it’s spot on. Can’t wait to see it painted. Lots of rust!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Can wait to see what you got cooking. I picture the gates of the Chapel being controlled by different gangs (by decree of the Magistrate of course). I got some more NPC type models (like the Ostium Guides) lined up for this but if it doesn’t work with your vision I’ll find another use for them.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment