Paint Job: Storm of Sigmar – Khorne Bloodbound

Hey there, it’s been a while but I am returned. And I bring to you painted minis. Now, that’s something you don’t see everyday on this blog. Seriously I am the world’s slowest painter. 

This Christmas I bought the Storm of Sigmar boxed set. All and all a brilliant little box with all you need to get started with Age of Sigmar. I did a review, check it out. My initial plan was to speed paint everything and play through the campaign during the holidays. Remember what I said about being the world’s slowest painter? Let’s put it this way, being slow and speed painting doesn’t really mesh well. 

I laid down the base colour a couple of months ago and just had them tucked away until Easter when I made final push to get them done. Last night I finally did it. I completed the project. The Storm of Sigmar can now be released. 

But now, without further ado, coming straight from the frozen ash land of the Mortal Realms, the Hateful Eight of the Khorne Bloodbound!

Blood and skulls!

Blood Warriors! There warriors are the heavy hitters of the gang. I wanted to reflect this in heavy wear and tear of their armour and weapons.

They are pretty sweet models.

Too bad about them boots. Otherwise they would make excellent Berzerkers for 40k.

Leader of the Anabolic Five.

There will be blood! I experimented a bit making the blood splatter on these dudes. I loaded up a brush with Blood for the Blood God and blew the paint onto the model. Messy.

The boy with the Khorne tattoo. I tried a bit of free hand and it turned out ok, don’t you think?
The highly defined muscles made the paint process quite easy but there is a lot of textures and details on the Bloodreavers. Painting was a chore.

All models a quite a lot of rust, partly because it looks cool but also because they care only about spilling blood.

Yeah! I can tick off a post on the to-do-list for 2017. Hahaha, only four months in. 

Keep on trucking. 
Ps. What’s your take on 8th? I’m like a freaking Bloodreaver – super-pumped! Ds. 

17 thoughts on “Paint Job: Storm of Sigmar – Khorne Bloodbound

  1. These are looking good mate – nicely gory and rusty. Nothing wrong with being a slow painter if you produce something good at the end of it. Super excited about 8th – keep hearing that Chaos is going to be a resurgent force and you can imagine how pleased I am about that!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad to see you back posting and with some painted models and all. Well played!

    You put a lot of effort into your conversions, so it would be great to see more paint on them as well. Hell ship them to me and I can put on a few layers for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cheers!

      I wanted to finish this project before starting the next one. It was surprisingly fulfilling to get done with something and not just starting something new. But don’t worry, the Warbands will get paint.

      Like

Leave a Reply

