Hobby Resolutions for 2017

Last year was a year half-finished projects for me. I just couldn’t find the time to get stuff done. I’ve been so busy at times that prioritising the hobby … well, that wasn’t really to think about. But this year look slightly better. At least right now. 


What I’m looking to do is finishing some of the projects that were left undone. This includes stuff like the Forgefiend Conversion from last summer, I want to finish it in time for our gaming weekender early spring so I got my work cut out right there. I need to finish writing the campaign too. I got the time line and most of the background penned down but I still need to wrap it all up. 


Here’s my hobby resolutions and plans for 2017 (in no special order):

Warhammer 40,000

  1. Forgefiend Conversion, build and paint
  2. Chaos Cataphractii Terminators, paint
  3. Raptors, paint
  4. DreadTober Helbrute, paint
  5. Slaughtersmith, paint
  6. Thousand Sons Rubricae Marines (with bolters), build and paint
  7. Thousand Sons Rubricae Marines (with flamers), paint
  8. Scarab Occult Terminators, buy, build and paint
  9. Thousand Sons Rhino, buy, build and paint
  10. Exalted Sorcerers, buy, build and paint

Age of Sigmar:

  1. Khorne Bloodbound from Storm of Sigmar, paint
  2. Old Blood on Carnosaur, paint
  3. Saurus Guard, paint
  4. Saurus Knights, paint
  5. Skink Starseer Conversion, build and paint
  6. Skeletons, paint
  7. Hexwraiths, paint
  8. Spirit Hosts, paint
  9. DIY Watchtower, build and paint
  10. DIY Trees, build and paint

I’m already seeing myself messing this up by losing interest and drifting off to new projects. You know, hobby butterfly-ism. I hope these lists will help me stay on target but I doubt it. I’ve actually started most of the things which should help me getting them done. I just haven’t posted any WIP posts of some of them. 

If I complete 50 % I think I’ll consider this a success. Yeah, half would be a major success. There is just way too much painting on those lists. Being the worlds slowest painter doesn’t help. 

A lot of things didn’t make the list, like the Iron Berzerkers and my almost finished Dark Eldar Wyches. There are a bunch of other stuff too. No, this year will be all about focusing and completing the mentioned stuff. 

How about you, got any plans for 2017? Please drop a comment. 

19 thoughts on “Hobby Resolutions for 2017

  1. Best laid plans and all that mate, good luck with it though, some intriguing projects on that list! Personally, I’m avoiding any detailed hobby plans this year, except 1) continue improving my painting, and 2) enjoy the hobby πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I generally not one for plans either but when I started to look at what I had done (and consequently left undone) I knew I had to make some sort of list. If only to remind myself. But the thing is that I’ve already started to contemplate some other project. Hahaha. The ink hasn’t dried yet …

      Improving paint and enjoying the hobby are solid goals.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well Thomas my list for 2017…
    1 paint ” The first curse formation”
    2 get about 90 gaunts finnished, almost there.
    3 finninsh “Mother” tervigon.
    4. One flyrant painted.

    I think I’ll stop there… This is a hobby and not a job πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Where do I begin:
    1) Arareille
    2) Sylvaneth Darkroot Wargrove (Drycha, 6 Kurnoth Hunters, 5 Tree Revenants, 5 Spite revenants, Treelord Ancient)
    3) Grey Knights (Dreadknight, 1 Strike Squad, 10 Paladins, 5 Terminators, 1 Interceptor Squad, 2 Purifier Squads, plus some independent characters)
    4) Sisters of Battle (about 50 models)
    5) Carcharodons (around 90 models)
    6) Tyranids (Trygon Prime, Tervigon, 20 Termagants)
    7) Lots and lots of scenery
    8) Inquisition
    9) Genestealer Cult

    Sylvaneth will be a primary focus because I’m really enjoying the army. I want to get my Grey Knights, Sisters and Tyranids done. It will be nice to have those armies complete. Carcharodons I am thinking of paying someone to get the basecoat done. I’ll dip them so they can be played and complete them in 2018. Scenery can be commissioned. I’m thinking of commissioning Genstealer Cult. Lots of models and my wrists have been acting up. This hobby can be brutal on the wrists.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my God! How do one go about to paint that many minis in a year? No wonder your wrists hurt.

      I’m just so slow when I paint. No matter how hard I try I just can’t seem to pick up the pace one bit.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No way I’m meeting that quota. Sylvaneth will be complete for sure. I hope to tackle half the Grey Knights and plug away at some Sisters. For Carcharodons I want to complete a few independent characters.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I reckon you can do it. One project off each list per month, two months’ wiggle/wobble room. Only you know how to allocate the time, but the structure is right there, and structure is the key to seeing these things through. Good luck.

    (I posted mine on my own blog.)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I never give myself hobby resolutions. It never works. That being said, my only goal at this point is to finish painting my Human Blood Bowl team. After that, who knows. Maybe I’ll work on finishing up half-done projects for my CSM, or maybe I’ll pick up another Blood Bowl team.

    *shrugs*

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Dude I have Iron Warriors Bezerkers that are half started for about 10 years πŸ™‚ sounds like a great list of things to build and paint. To keep it fresh, bounce around within the list, so do a bit of 40k, then a bit of AoS, then back. It helps to reduce the butterflyism.
    Good luck and here is to 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

