How to make Twin-linked Devourers with Brainleech Worms

I’m not run any flying Hive Tyrants in my Tyranid army. They’re great and look really awesome on the table top but they’re not for me. I’m just a hipster gamer swimming against the current, I guess. Luckily, my follow Tyranid player and tag team buddy is running a pair of flying Hive Tyrants.

I guess everybody’s aware of the slight problem with the Hive Tyrant kit and model; the kit doesn’t include any twin-linked Brainleech Devourers and the wings of the Hive Tyrant robs the model of one pair of arms. So to run the Hive Tyrant with two sets of Brainleech Devourers (which everybody and their granny do) you need to either buy Forge World’s awesome gun arms, use the Fleshborer Hive arms from the Tyrannofex or convert your own Devourers. I decided to convert a couple of arms for my friend. This is how I made them:

1. I used the Deathspitter arms from the Carnifex kit and the Devourers from the Tyranid Warrior kit. The Devourers from the Tyranid Warrior is the exactly the same size as the Devourers in the Carnifex kit. You need two Devourers for each arm.

20151209_190942

20151209_190802

2. I cut off the barrels of the Deathspitters and the Devourers and glued two Devourer barrels together on a small piece of plasticard. I also cut off the chitin part on Devourers.

20151209_191631

20151209_191650

20151209_192554

20151209_223434

3. I glued the double Devourer piece and the chitin part to the Deathspitter arm. Repeat this four times.

20151209_223456

20151209_223356

4. I went over the bio-cannons with some Green Stuff filling in gaps and doing some minor sculpting. Nothing fancy at all.

Twin-linked brainleech devourers

All this was done in less than an hour, in two sessions as I wanted the glue to cure and create a really strong bond before doing any sculpting. It was really nothing to this conversion.

This was my first tutorial. I hope you enjoyed it. Please let me know what you think. Stay frosty!

7 thoughts on “How to make Twin-linked Devourers with Brainleech Worms

    1. You flyrants will most definitely do most of the heavy lifting as we devour all that juicy tau and human biomass!

      But may you forever roll ones when you face my Chaos Space Marines. 🙂

      Like

    1. Simple and effective, the best type of tutorial 😛
      Nice job! I like the conversion, and really appreciate the tutorial!

      Like

      1. Cheers guys! Glad you like both the conversion and the tutorial. I think I spent almost as much (so not that much really) to make the tutorial as I did making the actual conversion.

        Like

Leave a Reply

