WIP: Khorgorath Helbrute Conversion part 1

The Khorne beast monster thing from the Age of Sigmar is … errr … special. The model do have qualities but straight out of the box it’s not for me. If you run it as a Khorne Daemon Prince it wouldn’t look out of place, especially not if you add wings.

20150815_202022

When I saw the Khorgorath model I knew I wanted to turn it into a Helbrute. I need two more Helbrutes so I can run a Helfist Murderpack. I picked up a model rather cheap online. Cheap enough to fail. This will be a quite complex conversion, maybe not as complex as the Altwon Pattern Maulerfiend but no doubt far more complex than the Khorne Lord conversion I just finished.

20150815_203600

Lets go over the model. It is yet again an intricate and technically advanced. Just look at how the pieces interconnect. Brilliant work. The face must be the biggest issue that I got with the model. It is too feral and well, just too Adam and the Ants for what I have in mind. It doesn’t work with the daemon cyborg of death feel of a Helbrute. Luckily the Helbrute kit came with a couple extra heads, so I have plenty of cool choices. The old head need to go and a new head added a bit further down. I also need to make some kind of sarcophagus while I’m changing the head. There will be a lot of work in the front.

20150815_202427

Next thing that I want to change is the weapons layout. The hands of the Khorgorath make excellent Power Fists but I don’t want two of them. So one of the hands will have to go. I’m going for the classic layout, right arm hold a gun, left arm a Power Fist. But the left arm’s got the same weird angle as the Dark Vengeance Helbrute. I need to re-position the arm. When that is done, I need to put a gun on the model. I got four options from the Helbrute kit; a twin-linked Lascannon, a Plasma Cannon, a Multi-Melta and a twin-linked Heavy Bolter. I’m leaning towards the Lascannon.

20150815_202033

The model is a bit thin. I need to build up the back with some kind of power plant and exhaust pipes. With the model torso gaining some bulk I might have to do some work on the hips and legs too. I might cut the model in two by its waistline. It will allow my to do more repositioning and more easily access the legs. The legs might be seperated from the waist too.

Yeah, you get the pictures. I’ll have a fair share of work cut out for me with this conversion.

9 thoughts on “WIP: Khorgorath Helbrute Conversion part 1

  1. Already used the AC? I love Auto cannons and the Reapers never failed me yet. How is the rest of the pack going to be fitted out? Could turn one of the arms into a cool looking plasma cannon, and the other into a power scourge? Look forward to seeing what you do with it.

    Like

    1. The Reaper is already taken, I use it on the stock Helbrute from the box. The power scourge is used too, it got turned into tail and tongue on the Altwon Pattern Maulerfiend.

      Arm into plasma cannon would look awesome. I might go down that route. But I’m leaning towards the Lascannon.

      Like

    1. Not really a fan either, I would never pay “full” price for it. But I paid less than a quarter of what Helbrute costs for it so it’s worth to give it a shot.

      Like

Leave a Reply

