High times indeed

I started High Times on the Eastern Fringe a couple of months ago out of a desire to share my passion for the hobby. I didn’t knew what to expect really, if there would be any interest in what I do or if there would be any fun documenting and posting about playing with little toy soldiers. I must say that this has been most enjoyable. Far exceeding any expectation that I might have had.

The trafic this blog get is not a lot in the grand scheme of things but for me it just awesome. It just pasted 3000 page views. Thanks for joining me on this adventure of heresy and mayhem. I would especially like to thank everyone who have interacted on the blog. Comments, however short or simple they might be, are a great source of energy. I think most hobby bloggers will agree regarding this.

Here’s a shot of one of my favourite models in my collection, a humble Chaos Space Marine carrying an Icon of Khorne. I imagine that Khorne approves of this use of the Icon. Blood for the Blood God!

Khorne Icon Bearer
“Every tool is a weapon if you hold it right.”

 

20 thoughts on “High times indeed

  1. Congrats on a milestone!

    Blogging is strangely addictive. For me it’s just another part of the hobby and it’s a very rewarding endeavor.

    That’s a great pose on the icon bearer. I would never have thought to make the icon the focus like that. I may have to steal that idea some time 🙂

    Like

    1. I absolutely love that model. He really feel Khorne. I remember the conversion as quite fiddly as it included cutting off and re-positioning both arms and both legs.

      I would love to see your take on an icon bearer like this.

      Like

      1. My problem is that I magnetize damn near everything, icons included. So, doing a model like this would mean not magnetizing. It would just be too hard to nail a cool pose like you did with magnets. At some point I may find myself doing an icon I don’t have to magnetize though. We’ll see.

        Like

      2. Magnetization is the bane of scratchbuilding. It just drains your bitz box of all the good available bits. I get why people do it, but it’s not for me.

        Like

      3. The gaming aspect is quite obvious when it comes to using magnets. I just don’t game that much really, I rather have my bits freed up for conversions and scratchbuilds.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. You can sometimes get away with pinning (long pin) vs magnetizing. It’s faster and easier to do. I usually stick to magnets now for wargear swapping, so you don’t have to cut up a model later. Pins for pretty much everything else.

        Like

  2. Congrats on the milestone! I find blogging is a good way to not only share, but keep track of your own musing and formulas for your creations. Love the icon as a weapon!

    Like

  3. Fully agree – blogging has become just another part of my hobby, just as enjoyable as collecting, converting, painting and gaming. Keep on trucking dude, your stuff is really cool 😀 (like that icon bearer!)

    Like

  4. You (and Thor – love his too) make me want to start a blog 🙂
    Congrats on so many views! And nice model – I can totally imagine him cleaving through some guardsmen with that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thor’s running a great blog. Big up to him. And when it comes to starting a blog of your own, I say just do it. It’s a good way of adding to you hobby experience. If you find out that it isn’t for you, well no shame in having tried it out at least.

      Like

  5. Very much agree regarding blogging, it took quite a bit of persuasion from several friends to get me started but now its right at the heart of everything I do with the hobby. I can think of several instances where I’ve pushed on with a project I might otherwise have given up on because I’d already blogged about it and was too proud and pig-headed to quit in front of others (and had the end result be well worthwhile) – or where someone’s suggestion fixed or improved a model I was otherwise struggling with. As it happens I’m battling with a khornate standard-bearer myself right now (figuratively of course, those space marines are big lads, it’s not worth getting them angry) and seeing your model has given me a few ideas to turn a failing conversion around.
    Anyway the point I’m trying to make is, for anyone reading this who’s considering blogging about their miniatures, go for it – you won’t regret it.
    Congratulations on the milestone – looking forward to seeing what you produce next!

    Like

    1. Cheers! I’m glad to hear that you found inspiration in my conversion and I love to see what you do with your standard bearer.

      I complete agree with that a project log help with the work discipline.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Well said sir. I too was unsure about the blog world for one, who’d really care about my little guys for two, and if I’d continue with the whole on line thing for three. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one in this vast world that’s gets lost in the miniature world hehe.
    Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. As a noob I’ve also been pleased no one has attacked me and tried to insult my miniatures. I have the thick skin of an Ork and the Morale of a Commissar though so even if I was attacked Id be quite prepared to go into battle with a big smile on my face 😄😃😀😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

